higher education

a while back, i wrote about my foray into the world of pole dancing. it was a bachelorette party of all things, but it really sparked something in me. having been a gymnast for (still) the majority of my life, i think my body craves being upside down and moving in space – flipping, twisting and expressing in motion.

being the mother of twins empowers you in so many ways, however rediscovering the acrobat in me has not been one of them. the physical tolls of pregnancy (i know, it’s been nearly 3 years now), the umbilical hernia i still carry around, the insane balance between parenting, work, partnership and dare i mention “me time,” had created a whirlwind of “no’s” and “can’t do its” in my brain. i honestly began to question my physical ability; not so much to exercise, but to do something strenuous and that pushed the bounds.

but then i saw the ad to come see a performance from austin’s aerial dance company. i didn’t even know what to expect, but the idea of witnessing dance outside, downtown on a balmy summer night, where artists suspended from cloth and harness scaled buildings and flew through the air – it was too much to resist. the performance did not disappoint. i was mesmerized. and every cell in my body was saying i HAD to do it.

i started classes in august. twice a week for 1.5 hours each time. lots of really hard core work. stretching. and then learning the technique of the cloth. the first few weeks i could barely move i was so sore. every class is challenging, even though i’m getting better and better. i really love that about it.

last night we had an informal showing for our family and friends. this is the culmination of my twelve weeks and two classes of aerial dancing. i know i’ve got a long ways to go, but there’s no timeline, not competitions, no standard that i have to live up to. it’s just me, the cloth and some really great people doing it along side me. and the exhilaration of flying in the air again, twisting and flipping and being in motion.

p.s. this is a long (6 minute) video and moves a little slow at times, but i promise the end is worth it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to higher education

  1. jay_say says:

    WOW… That is so awesome. I don't think I could ever have the strength or the courage to do something like that. Make sure you share more videos in the future. I am so impressed… you are my idol!

  2. DUDE! You are such a rock star. Those splits were killer, so many awesome moves. And that end was crazy. CRAZY! You've still got it and then some, girl.

  3. LauraC says:

    FREAKING AWESOME! Seriously that was so sweet and GOOD FOR YOU for regaining a big sense of self. And that ending? Amazing!!I know the feeling of can'ts and nos. 2009 has knocked me on my ass but now that I've had to regroup, 2010 is going to be legendary. Lots of plans and changes.

  4. Krissy says:

    Holy Smokes! That is awesome! Seriously, VERY VERY impressive! And it looks like such fun!

  5. WHOAH! That was beyond mesmerizing, amazing, beautiful and impressive. WOW!I'm proud of you for doing something for yourself and for being so absolutely amazing with the cloth! Damn girl. I'm speechless!

Leave a Reply

