Wintertime… and the Living is Easy

It’s now December and this is where I find myself.

Note the cropped linen pants, no socks, green on the trees? I’m sitting on our deck in my favorite teak lounger, glass of red within arms reach and a book awaiting. Did I mention I’m wearing a tank top?

This is why we moved to Austin.

My mom emailed a picture of Chicago’s first snow of the season. It looks pristine and magical and, yes, I do miss that. Especially in December. I do not miss the bitter cold made worse by lake winds, nor the four layers you need to wear to take a walk. I especially don’t miss the drudgery of every day trying to get the car through a snowed-in alley that will never be plowed.

If you live in a cold climate, I’m not writing to rub this in your noses (well, maybe a little). I just want to help myself remember this moment, these days, of my little slice of perfection. Where the breeze brings a hint of juniper, the butterflies flit about and my body relaxes. For me, it just doesn’t get much better than this.

This entry was posted in momcentric. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wintertime… and the Living is Easy

  1. LauraC says:

    You know I still work with Chicago people. On Wednesday, lots of delays because of a snowstorm so I rubbed it in their faces that it was 70 here.

    And guess what? SNOWING here today. A LOT.

  2. Lee-Lee (Grandma) says:

    …and Abel and Oskar are missing out on making a snowman and sledding. One of these years the Silverman family will have to make a trip to Chicago over Christmas so these sweet grandsons of ours can have well-rounded climate experiences!

Leave a Reply

