My favorite day

The boys’ birthday is by far my favorite day of the year. Now that they are 4, it’s just so dang fun! The excitement they have about turning a year older, about getting bigger (their concept = overnight), about celebrating with friends and family, and of course, getting presents, is infectious.

Yesterday really gave me pause about creating special birthdays for them. My most vivid birthday memory is when my mom’s friends, Arianne and Elaine (my second moms growing up), came over in their orange vanagon and let me paint it however I wanted. They tied a snoopy doll to the top, along with a loud speaker, and as we drove we sang songs and announced to the world that it was my birthday. We ended up at a state park and had a birthday picnic in the burgeoning colors of late September. I think I was 6 and I will never forget it.

Yesterday was one of fun, surprises and several great gifts for the guys that sent them over the moon. They easily spent 30 minutes riding around REI on their new bikes (thanks nana!), and another hour in the gorgeous 70 degrees in Austin.

For next year, I want to focus less on gifts and more on having a special birthday experience for them. I’m not sure what it will be, but maybe a little zany and out-of-the-ordinary. Memorable for all of us, no matter what.

What are some of your most treasured birthday memories? How do you make your kid’s birthday special?

This entry was posted in grandparents, milestones and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My favorite day

  1. Lindsay says:

    How did I just now find your blog??? Lots of catching up to do!

  2. Libby says:

    I don’t know that you can top your birthday vanagon experience in terms of zany kid fun-ness, but we did two boy theme parties that turned out well. We did a superhero party and provided capes and masks for each kid plus an obstacle training course in the backyard (slide, tunnel, trampoline, ladder-nothing fancy), and the crowning event, a silly string “fight” on the driveway. It took about a year for the silly string to fully disappear, but it so fun it was completely worth it. The second was a bike parade party where we met at the park, provided all the decorating supplies and let the kids go to town decorating their bikes, scooters, wagons and riding toys. The nice part was they were so engrossed in it, the adults got to sit and chat, and the kids wore themselves out riding around the park with their friends! Party favors were bike horns and license plates.

Leave a Reply

